FP crew in 1950sJohn Dunbar (C1958), a member of the School's Rowing Club, has recently made contact with his former crew members, William Crawford (C1959), George Turnbull (C1959) and Irwin Foreman (C1959) and all four are planning to meet in August 2009 for the first time in 50 years! The photo is of the crew in action all those years ago.


Pat Marwick, nee Begg (C1965) is currently Deputy Scottish Chief Commissioner for Girlguiding Scotland. She is at present involved in preparations for the centenary year of the Guides in 2010, and many amazing events are planned in celebration. The Scottish launch will be a parade of Rainbows, Brownies, and Guides along the Royal Mile, culminating in a reception at the Scottish Parliament. Pat is also mum to Claire Marwick (C1995) and Graham Marwick (C1998).

Glasgow Kiss by Alex GrayThe latest novel by Alex Gray, aka Sandra McGruther, née Lang (C1968)  is set in a fictional Glasgow secondary school. Glasgow Kiss is the sixth in her series featuring Chief Inspector Lorimer (pub. Little Brown in March 2009). Website for Alex Gray


'Glasgow' by Charles JamiesonWell-known artist Charles Jamieson (C1970) has produced Glasgow, a stunning collection of images and words which portray Glasgow (pub Frances Lincoln in April 2009). Website for Charles Jamieson


Kim Hayes C1986Kim Hayes, nee Brown (C1986) has been voted Winner of the 2009 Status Plus CBWC Manager in Business Award in Cairns, Australia. The award is to acknowledge women in the corporate sector for their outstanding skills and contribution to business as an employee.


Leon Smith C1993Leon Smith (C1993), former coach to Andy Murray, has been appointed captain of Britain's Davis Cup team. Smith, who has been a professional tennis coach for 16 years, was most recently the LTA's head of player development in men's tennis.

Dr Rita Ahmad nee Poddar C1994Dr Rita Ahmad, nee Poddar (C1994) was Entrepreneur of the Year at the 2010 Asian Business Awards for her business Bath Street Dental. Dr. Ahmad turned a struggling dental practice into one of the most successful in Glasgow. Now running five practices, her business turns over more than £2 million pounds a year.

Since becoming close friends at Hutchesons', Debbie Simmers, nee Sinclair, and Alison Latta, nee Tait, (C1995) have opened the first outdoor children's nursery in the west of Scotland, a concept well established in Germany and Scandinavia. The 'Woodland Outdoor Kindergarten', for 3 to 5 year olds, delivers the national curriculum for excellence using the stimulating, real-world natural setting within the wooded areas of Pollok Country Park. Read more!

Tim Elwell-Sutton (C1997) recently completed an MPhil degree in Medical Anthropology at Exeter College, University of Oxford, where he did research on tuberculosis control policy in Nepal and he is about start a PhD in Public Health at Hong Kong University.


Jan Colhoun (C2005) LLB, Craig Freer (C2005) LLB, James Grant (C2006) LLB and Priya Kharbanda (C2006) MA all received 1st class degrees from the University of Glasgow in July 2009. Calum Stacey (C2004) LLB was awarded a 1st class degree from the University of Aberdeen.

Akshay BishnoiAkshay Bishnoi (C2005) earned a 1st class Honours degree in Maths from Edinburgh University in June 2009, having spent his third year at UC Berkeley in California. He is going on to do an MPhil at Magdalen College, University of Oxford.

Two Former Pupils showed off Hockey skills honed at Hutchie on a June 2009 tour of Sri Lanka with the University of St Andrews Women's Hockey team. Anna Watson (C2005) and Lauren Park (C2007) played matches against local teams in Matale and Colombo, with Anna scoring a goal for the visiting team.

Three former pupils who started Primary 1 together at Kingarth Street in 1992 have graduated together! Margaux Park, Anna Watson and Laura Johnstone (C2005) graduated in June 2009 from the University of St Andrews. Another two former pupils from the Class of 2005, Andrew McFarlan and Alistair Baxter, also graduated from the University of St Andrews at the same time.

Pupils from Hutchesons' received their Gold Duke of Edinburgh's Award at Holyrood Palace on 1 July 2009. The Awards were presented by TV personality Shereen Nanijani to: Paula Arnold (C2005), Louise Dale (C2007), Megan Fox (C2009), Ewan Fraser (C2008), Emma Fulton (C2001), Iain Johnston (C2004), Douglas Millar (C2005), Lauren Park (C2007), Margaux Park (C2005) and Campbell Stewart (C2008).

Scott Weir (C2003)Scott Weir (C2003) was presented with the Cardonald College Apprentice Award (1st Year Plumbing) for his work during the 2008-2009 session. The award was presented at Hampden National Stadium by John Mason MP (C1975).